new old mail book notes profile irish home
2024-02-02
I found another company I'm going to try to apply to before the end of this week.
It looks promising, but as evidenced by past instances, I've learned not to get too excited.
Life has a way of kicking me in my weakest spot when I want to crawl my way out of despair.

My previous resume looked too bland so I took advantage of the templates Apple had for me to use. I tweaked some things and kept others and I was satisfied enough with how it turned out. So we'll see.

Nothing new on the USCIS front. I wasn't expecting anything to be approved so fast but I had hope, since each case is different. I'm not sure if it's going to take the whole 11 months for us to get approved and God knows I miss my husband so much that I can't wait until he's here but I am also a little bit grateful he's not on his way to the U.S. quite yet. Things here have yet to fall into place and I need more time. Plus, it gives him more time to keep saving for our USCIS fees- which I just found out are going up beginning in April of this year.

Son of a Bitch.

Of course there's an increase and not a decrease. I just don't know quite yet how the increase is going to affect us. We've already sent our I-130 and paid the fee and while we're waiting for it to get approved, does that mean we'll have to pay the new fee for files we haven't yet done or... does that mean we're "grandfathered in" because we sent in our initial I-130 before this increase? I mean, it's not like we can do much. We have to wait for an approval and even after that happens, we have to enter into the NVC stage.

Today's also my ex-friend's birthday. She's 37 now and I haven't spoken to her in more than 10+ years. I find it odd that I haven't run into her EVER in all this time. I'm pretty sure she still lives in the same house that is less than 5 minutes from mine. If I'm sitting here with actual life experience trying to figure shit out like everyone else, I can't imagine what life must feel like for her. She stopped being my friend because I wouldn't support her decision to be a leech. She didn't want to drive or work or be independent. She was basically okay living at her mother's and had no intention of ever finding job, having her own money and had this awkward, unrequited crush on a guy from her church that didn't give her the time of day who eventually got married and moved away, leaving her with a one sided crush which I'm sure had to eventually fade. And this is coming from someone who knows and learned a big lesson about one-sided situations. You can only like someone for so long and have it be one sided until it literally does nothing for you or benefits you in any way. Feelings can and do die out eventually. Nothing is even wrong with her. She had ONE seizure back when we were friends and had been on preventative medication afterwards with no problems or hindrance to her daily life but she used that as an excuse.
I've traveled, I've fallen in love, gotten my heart broken by a few guys. I've had 4 cars in my life, gotten a credit card, I took a huge leap and took chance on a guy who lived in a different country and married him a few years later and i’m so happy i did that. My husband is the best. I've gotten rejected by jobs, I've been accepted by some too. I've been a bridesmaid three times and for one of those weddings, i came out to Alphaville’s “Forever Young” when they presented each member of the wedding party. (I still laugh about that part to this day). I caught a wedding bouquet once. I got my license at 22 after conquering my fear of driving. I'm going through a crazy immigration process right now that is stressful and exciting all at once. I've been happy and depressed. I've outgrown in-person friends and made new ones, even online friends whom I still keep in touch with. One of those friends is even on a game show that's currently airing...
and I have so much more I want to experience when my husband gets here. I can't imagine wherever my former friend is that she's completely happy, because she's missing out on making mistakes that inevitably help you grow and navigate.
I hope she's okay wherever she is.

< >


-
Delightfully Drained. - 2024-04-16
Because i don’t want to is a good reason. - 2024-02-26
Hopes, Mistakes and Former Friends. - 2024-02-02
God doesn’t take Attendance. - 2024-01-13
Finding my Stellar Again. - 2024-01-10