Death & Acceptance.
I didn't cry until they were lowering her coffin into the hole. The wind had picked up and my hair was blowing all over the place but the sun was shining nevertheless. I made sure to walk beside my grandfather grabbing his arm and Daniela was on his right side.
We stayed until they finished covering the hole with the last bit of dirt and afterwards, all the flowers friends/family/aquaintences had brought for her, were brought over to the grave and placed on top. There were so many of them. I cried but the wind kept blowing the tears away, making it hard to even look up.
She looked like she did when she was alive, only much thinner than the last time i saw her. Her hands were red and purple from her last days in the hospital but otherwise, she was just my great grandmother...a kind and loving woman who for the last few years suffered from Alzheimers and would take us back in time.
My grandfather would cry but i think he made sure no one was around to see him. I hated seeing him this way and when i saw him cry, i started to do the same because i couldn't stand seeing him so heartbroken. She lived 93 years and most people would say that was a great run but it's still not easy losing someone who brought such joy into her life. She was suffering and now that God has taken her from us, she can finally rest in his Grace.
I'm finally home now and a little exhausted from lack of sleep. I'm going back to work tomorrow though and life is going to have to go on somehow.

prev / next
posted on 2011-02-19 @ 5:47 p.m.