lingo.
I'm beat.
There was some cookie swap day going on at work. I must have seen the signs all over but it just slipped my mind. Nevertheless, there were trays upon trays of them when i took my lunch. Tasha wasn't at all quiet about letting everyone know that she made her cookies instead of buying them at the store. When she said it though, it sounded charming. I guess certain people can get away with those kinds of remarks.
I was working on an empty stomach and my hours today were scheduled during the time when we have more flow of people. I gathered my recovery box which didn't have an insane amount of crap on it and started working it. I finished fairly quickly and went to go see if there was anymore things from my department. Debbie called a meeting later on and told us we were to "flip" at 2 o'clock. I had this question mark on my forehead.
What the hell was "flip"? i didn't yet know all the lingo these people used so i asked.
You flip the signs and put the one that says PH or something. You had to switch all the signs that had a blue dot on the bottom left hand corner and i not only had intimates, but also the accessories section.
I can't even begin to tell you how many friggin blue dots i had.
It seemed never ending.
Then i kept getting paged and then i have like 5 people asking me where things are when my hands are full with bras from my recovery basket.
Have to say, the flipping is no joke when you've got tons of blue buttons. I made sure and i circled both areas about 10 times hoping i hadn't missed any dots. Shannon paged me and asked me if i had finished. Everytime i say something she always uses the word awsome like its permanently part of every sentence she says.

It's kind of annoying how some customers want to know the price to everything that has a discount when there are price checks around every corner. They ask me, and there's usually one right behind them. Then they say "Oh! i'm sorry..." i still have to be polite though.
I get alot of men who shop at the department i'm working on and it doesn't quite click how they even know what to get, then they get on the phone with their wives and then after they have me looking and holding things after 10 minutes of wandering, they don't get anything. that annoys me. There was this old man who came up to me with a picture of the slippers he wanted to get his wife. They were "SO" slippers but the ones we had were fuzzy and multi-colored. When i asked him how old his wife was, he said "She's 70.."
I raised an eyebrow. "Umm, i don't think she'd like these. The SO slippers we carry she won't like so i would suggest something else for her.."

Right then and there, he spotted the Isotomer slippers which looked just like the SO slippers, only the brand name was diffrent. I looked for her size and found it, then he got on the phone with his wife and told her about them. After all that time wasted, she said she didn't want the slippers. The man rolled his eyes, then when he hung up, he looked at his cell and stuck out his tongue at it.
I pressed my lips together to keep from laughing.

***When i got home, i took a hot shower. I really needed it. I want to sleep until noon tomorrow. It's too cold and i just want to rest. I'm working alot next schedule and come monday, i'll have to get up at 4 in the morning. darnit. when did it become reasonable to work at those hours? Oh, well. I am becoming more friendly with some of the people i work with. Carol even smiled at me. She always has a sour looking face. One of the guys i work with who's 2 years younger than i says hello to me more. He saw me as i was heading out and flicked me in the arm and grinned. I do not know his name yet. I haven't bothered to look at his name tag or even ask his name, but i do smile at him to show him that i am friendly. Now that Kristy and Nelda are gone, it's not the same.

prev / next

posted on 2009-12-11 @ 10:36 p.m.