working girl
Oh, wow.
Work wore me out. Patti didn't want coffee but i didn't think i'd function without drinking just a little.
I'm not a coffee person, i'll have some maybe 3 times a year at most.
Got up at 5a.m. this morning. I couldn't get to sleep because i wasn't used to getting to bed early so i ended up falling asleep at 2 then got up at 5. Dad took me and dropped me off and then he went to his job.
I wasn't sleepy or tired. Ha. It must be because i'm 22 and i can hold out strong.
Dustin said Jennifer would help and i also got some pointers from CJ and two others who knew the ropes. It took about an hour for me to get the rythym of it, then i was pretty much on my own. I would ask Jennifer if what i was doing was right- i didn't want to screw up the whole operation by putting things on the wrong cart. I have a box cutter in my pocket which i'll be using. It's not easy going at a quick pace. Some carts have three levels and i'm not that tall so i have to stand on my toes to reach it, take the plastic off and fit as many clothes as i can. I also went out on the floor to put things back where they belonged. Jen helped me with that but i guess it flows better when we work as a team. Patti and i got separated at first, then she headed to folding and i opened the boxes up.
I was scheduled until 10 but Dustin said we could stay till noon. I agreed at first but then told him i was heading out as planned. He didn't object at all and i told Andrea that i was leaving.
She asked me how it went and i just basically told her that at first it was a little awkward but everyone helped me out, so that made me feel comfortable, plus i was making conversation with everyone i was working with even if i didn't necessarily know them. I wanted to get aquainted and build a nice working relationship. Patti and i were the only new ones so we didn't take it to heart if anyone didn't initiate conversation. I took the initiative myself.

It's funny how i've changed. In elementary, jr. high, & part of 9th grade i was shy and didn't speak to anyone unless they spoke to me. I had to feel comfortable with them first. Now i'll just talk to whoever is there, say hello and make myself an approachable person and i think it worked well for me today because i left my shift feeling good about things. Before i left the freight area, i thanked everyone for making me feel welcome and helping me with what i needed to get done and the response was lovely; exactly what i had expected. My arms hurt a little and i still have a runny nose but i think i pulled through nicely. I tried to make the best of it...it was just very unfortunate that i got sick at the beginning of my orientation, training and my first shift. I'm sure i'll get better. I have this weekend off which is GREAT! and Andrea called me and told me another truck was coming monday and i told her i'd be there again at 6a.m. and could work till noon if she wanted me.

I went to bible study stright after work and Patty made me a tea that was supossed to help with my runny nose. God, it tasted freaking awful.
So we left their house at 1:45 or so and i need to eat something, then lay down or get some sleep. I really don't feel like i need to sleep but some rest is due.
I'm so glad i have this weekend off!
I get to go to Janessa's birthday tomorrow and our church service on sunday. Dad should be happy about that.

prev / next

posted on 2009-11-06 @ 2:15 p.m.