Love in times of Corona.
He will be here next Sunday if all goes well. I AM excited but I don't think I've given myself the space to be nervous. I think there is a part of me that has been so numb to whatever is going on because I am so used to something going awry, I don't know.
Our plans nearly got derailed because they cancelled his flight including the connecting one. God, I was in full on desperation mode. Mostly because we were about two weeks from my LOA. I had carefully calculated Those two weeks and put in a week's worth of vacation to supplement what LOA would not cover. We are only allowed two weeks which I didn't know. in total, I will only have to work 3 days out of his entire stay so I will not complain about that. Everyone has tried their best to work with me.
I was already making things up in my head about what I would say, because my boyfriend is a catastrophic realist. He doesn't sugar coat anything.
He said: "If I can't get a flight, I won't be able to go until next year."
Those words are instantly a punch un the gut for me. Mostly because I kept thinking back at all his nervous energy every time he had to do something in the midst of planning.
Him getting his passport renewed was a freaking miracle. Because none of us saw this pandemic coming, he never renewed his passport and they just weren't handing out appointments to anybody. They turned him away when he went in person to inquire because they said they were only taking emergency cases.
I guess because things change from week to week, he kept an eye out online and got his passport renewed.
He also took out 3 small scale loans (although to him they aren't) and got himself a PayPal account and also told HR his intentions to come to the U.S. to visit me.
My role as a comforting girlfriend increased even more so and I would go to bed later that usual to talk him through some insecurities regarding whether everything would pan out, especially during a pandemic.
I prayed and I cried. If they cancelled his flight and he could not manage to get a date closest to what we already had planned, we'd be screwed.
I kept thinking how I was going to tell my lead that I was no longer going to need my LOA and if It was going to be too late to cancel. I wanted to think positively but I also needed to have my feet firmly planted on the ground. Fantasy no matter how pretty isn't healthy without a sizable dose of reality to go along with it.
The travel agent he's been working with, somehow managed to get him another flight with the same layover city with him arriving two days earlier than planned. he will have to spend the night in a Chilean airport but he will be here. if nothing else goes wrong, he will be here.
I am happy, I am excited but I don't think it will sink in until I go to the airport to get him. I drive by the airport everyday on my way to and from work and every day I can see the planes flying low over my car as I am driving.
I just keep hoping my father behaves himself. He's never been "the hostess with the mostest" type and honestly, the "father with the shotgun" look needs to stop. it's stupid and embarrassing at my age. The massive concern needs to also stop. We need to be a normal family. All of us. I am tired of tiptoeing around people's stupidity.

prev / next
posted on 2021-05-08 @ 8:26 p.m.