Michael.
I am shocked.

I just had the longest conversation i think i've EVER had with Michael. We worked together. His mother is one of my managers, Mel-Han. Yes, the one that yelled at me a few weeks ago for no reason. Yep, the one who apologized to me days later filled with guilt.

He's been in the Army since June.

Michael and i only crossed words to say hello, not much else. One time, he came up to me and i thought 'Wow, is Michael really coming up to me right now to start a conversation?' I was getting excited because he had never done so before but as it turns out, all he wanted was to ask me if i'd consider joining the Army. He was plugging as much as he could asking around before he had to leave. When i mentioned it to Liz, we both laughed so hard about it.

Tonight, he said hello to me and i was dumbfounded. I consider myself the last person he'd choose to chat with, but i didn't question him, i just went with it. He talked about all his training and how he misses his car and sleeping in. We actually had a legit conversation and i actually laughed along the way.

I stopped to think about it and it occurred to me that he must really need people to talk to since his days are pretty much always scheduled out. He gave me his address and gave me green light to share it with our co-workers. He's in San Antonio now and plans to come home for Christmas. I was pleasantly surprised that we were having a conversation. People surprise you sometimes and that's nice.

Michael had a girlfriend. She lived up in Washington and apparently his family was close to hers. He'd go up to visit her all the time until one day, he showed up with her at work holding her hand. You could tell he was proud of her and enjoyed showing her off. I remember seeing them come by one time and i was on the ground sorting and organizing a table full of underwear. I felt like a moron but it had to be done. I saw a pair of feet walking past and it was them walking off so lovey-dovey. She was lovely gal and looked kind. She made the move to Texas which i thought was a very admirable risk. They eventually got engaged because Michael had announced he was joining the Army but...

One day i heard the news that someone from work had seen her at a bar with another guy kissing him. Whomever that was told Michael about it and they broke up. He was devastated. Every time i walked by him, he looked like a zombie with this blank stare... and for days all i saw was pain in his eyes. It was really sad to look at him so i avoided eye contact whenever i could. Can't tell you how much i felt for him. The pain of being betrayed by someone that meant the world to you is something you could never describe.

He never told me about any of this. Word just got around. People talk. Him and i NEVER got close or had any kind of conversation that lasted more than 3 seconds, which is why you can imagine my shock now that i had an hour long one a few short moments ago. I tried to make friends but it seemed that he only liked joking around and being lose around certain people.

I think i will write him a letter. Not sure what i'll say yet, because we were never really friends but he's a brave one for sticking it out over there. Some encouragement will do him some good i think.




prev / next

posted on 2012-10-25 @ 11:01 p.m.