"They"
If i keep asking myself what's wrong with me, i'll probably come up with more flaws, so i won't.

Instead, i'll pretend that i think i am not the problem. They will be the problem. I will come up with reasons as to why it won't work. They're ones that can't be still or perhaps find me too intimidating although the last thing i'd consider myself to be is intimidating.

Maybe they're afraid of not being 'good enough' for me because i'm such a goodie two-shoes.

Maybe they know they will eventually disappoint me and because of that, they don't want to carry the burden of having hurt someone as nice as me. It think it would bother them, so they'd rather stay away from someone like me... even if i am beautiful to them, charming, relatable or funny.

It doesn't matter that i'm good enough to bring home to their mothers. The point is, there's not that many good people left. They all want to do things that i'd find unsettling. No one wants to be good and i am too much of a risk for them to give all that up. I'd never ask anyone to give anything up for me, but upon looking into my eyes, they'd know it would be a problem for them.

Yeah, i question myself sometimes.
Why i never seem to be good enough.

Then i come to my senses.
Because deep down, i know i'm a reasonably great person with a lot of give.

It just takes the right person to take it.

I guess underneath all that rambling i do, i never seem to want to give it up.

Love is out there, somewhere. Hiding. Or just waiting for the right moment to creep up on me when i least expect it.

prev / next

posted on 2012-10-24 @ 3:03 p.m.