Exactly As I Knew It Would Happen.
I was hoping to travel light. It's a bit of a hassle for me to carry stuff i'm not going to wear but even then you never know. I just wasn't so interested or invested on this trip -especially one so quick- but what the hell.

We left around 2:00p.m. and by 6:30p.m. we were pulling up to Y-Gar's house. The four hours went by fast because i brought my Kindle. I finished one book in that amount of time. There wasn't much room chat or anything, so i went straight up to Bria's room to get ready. The Gathering place was only a few houses down the street so we walked. I didn't need my coat during the whole night. Houston's weather is significantly different from ours. It felt like a breezy spring night; nothing more.

I hated the way my hair turned out. It didn't look as shiny or manageable. I still felt gross from being on my period and i wasn't really in the mood for much. I guess it's because i wasn't anticipating anything festive or fun. I could pretty much figure out in my mind how the night would go, and i wasn't wrong.

We got to the place and as usual Daniel was the first one to stretch out his arms to greet me with a smile. I almost felt guilty for nagging about these people sometimes because they are so friendly and welcoming. Martha (his wife) soon followed and embraced all of us. There were some people we knew from previous trips to Houston and others we didn't. Nevertheless, we said hello to all of them, sat at our table and waited for things to start as usual.

Daniel began as he always does -with a wise sermon- and even i have to admit that the man is amazing with words. He knows how to get your attention and keep it. A short time later, we had dinner. I was starving but i picked at my food a lot. I kept texting Ashley back and forth throughout the night. At least things were going well on her end.
She was at a nice Hotel with Will and he was cooking her dinner. They were going to be together and she was so excited. They were probably going to make love all night, as many times as they wanted and she would be happy. I was happy she was happy -finally- regardless of how iffy things have been for them. He was still giving up his time to spend it with her. I wished i could of been in a similar position, but i also couldn't spend time bitching when i was alive and well and with perfectly nice people.

In between her texts, i was chatting with Fran, Mom, Dad, or Jairo. Then at certain times, i'd look down and play on my phone.

It was past midnight and no one had even paid attention to the clock. It wasn't until 10 past midnight that everyone got on their feet to hug each other. I hugged my parents, the sibling, Fran, Bria, Y-Gar, and a bunch of strangers. Not...exactly how i wanted to spend my New Years Eve. Dad got up to say a few words and told everyone in the room that all of them felt more like family than his own.

I made a face. Well, not in my case. My family was important to me and as nice as everyone was, i didn't know them, i never see them so there is no reason why they should feel more than mere acquaintances to me. I missed Sophia and Denisse and Sandy and Haley and David and Fabian....

I wanted to be around my friends.

The only edible thing that tasted somewhat amazing was the cheesecake, that was it. We sang songs about Jesus and God and by 2 in the morning, we said goodbye and then as if i hadn't even felt a thing or cared, i found myself walking back up the street alone with the fireworks going off in many colors and sizes, the cool breeze blowing and giving me goosebumps and i made my way towards Y-Gar's house. I had her keys so i went in, went upstairs and began to get undressed.

I got many text messages from my friends, famiy and co-workers back home, and two calls from Joshua who must of been getting drunk to no end.

New Year's Eve was exactly the way i figured. Nothing less, Nothing More.


xoxoxoxoxoxo.



prev / next

posted on 2012-01-01 @ 6:49 p.m.