With Josh.
So, i just got home. I went out with Josh tonight. I was at home and really had nothing to do anyway. He messaged me and asked if i wanted to hang out, so i said yes. He wanted to take me out to dinner but before that i had already eaten so he scratched that idea. I think he was a little disappointed.
We drove around a little then stopped for some Ice Cream. He ate an entire Banana Split in the car. We actually parked so he could eat it.
I was kind of hoping we'd go inside but he told me he wasn't too fond of that and I didn't ask him why. I didn't mind it but it was still a little strange. I had a simple chocolate milkshake. He took me to a rich part of town so i could see some of the Christmas lights too. We didn't see too many out so he just drove, i talked while he fumbled with the radio. He was humming along to a country song then switched the station to one of my favorites JackFM 100.3 where they play alot of Classic Rock. We argued a little about where the station should stay but in the end i gave in and let him settle on a Brad Paisley Song. Okay, so we don't have the same taste in music...that was okay i guess but it's still a plus to find someone who can share the radio with me and sing along to all the songs i like.

After all that, he took me down to Town Square. I had never been there at night and i had never really payed close attention to it either. It was kind of awesome. There were so many old looking posts lit up and Christmas lights. He parked and asked if i would mind if we just went for a walk. I agreed. I just loved the feel of a small town with little shops and things.
"Wow, it's so pretty here", i said. And it was. There was a bike shop and all these benches you could sit at. There was a Gazebo decorated with lights. It was chilly. I only had a hoodie sweater on but Josh only had a thin long sleeved shirt on. Sometimes i'd walk a few steps ahead of him just looking around and other times i'd walk next to him almost grazing his arm as i walked. He told me a few stories about certain places. The great thing about it all was that there was no one in sight. It was very quiet. We were the only ones walking around on the street.
"Are you Cold?" he'd ask me.
I knew he was worried about that. Some of the girls he would hang out with in the past would complain about the cold or just wonder why they'd be walking at night in historic Lancaster.

When i tell people i'm low maintenance, i mean it. I really like it and was surprised how i hadn't dragged mom here before. It's lovely at night. He showed me an old-fashioned house nearby. No one is living there now but it's got a great porch and a swing.

"Are you sure you're not cold?" he said again.
-I'm fine, i promise. If i was cold, i would tell you..."
He eased up a bit, then i spotted a bench and we sat there for a half hour just talking about anything. He's a good conversationalist. Sometimes he would avoid looking at me directly in the face but when he did, i'd smile at him to make him feel more comfortable. I was literally close enough to him that if i wanted to, i could lean in against his arm to shield myself from the chill. He said i made him nervous but i'm not sure in what way.

We were there when the Train passed. It was loud but neat to watch.

We headed out to his car after walking some more, and he opened the door for me to get in.

"Wow, no one's ever opened the door for me before", i said laughing.

-"Who have YOU been hanging with?"

"Jerks", i said.

He drove me home, i got out of the car and then he hugged me twice.

"You smell great", he said.

As i walked away i turned mid way and said thanks.

prev / next

posted on 2011-12-03 @ 12:49 a.m.