My Ritual of Nervousness.
This was my weekend to be off, so i was disappointed to see that i was on the schedule for tomorrow. Our busy couple of months are here and i'm not looking forward to them. On the plus side, this is my third Christmas so i know what's going on now, how to avoid the people traffic and what days are safe to request off.
Speaking of which, i haven't used any of my vacation hours yet. Back about a year ago, i told myself that i wouldn't use them and that any day that i wanted off, i could just request/write it down on the binder. I haven't really needed to use those hours for anything big, until now. I knew they would come in handy; i just didn't know for what and when.

I'm completely envious that Ashley's got 241 hours. Shit. That's like a vacation to Paris...PAID.
I'm hoping to get together with her Tuesday. She's already doing research and she's freaking good at it, i tell ya. So, i trust her completely. I'm hoping we can catch up, have dinner and plan this exactly right. She said she would e-mail me today but we're still going to need to get together and discuss it. She's excited...as am i but i don't want to do leaps until i know this is set and the only thing left to do is pack and load up the car, then i can be nervous, excited and cartwheel-y. I'm a natural worrier and i feel like if i don't worry, that things won't go perfectly right, that way when they DO, i can say:
"Why did i worry?"

It's a ritual of sorts even though overall i'm not really OCD about that kind of stuff. I have a minimal case of: 'If i wake up on the opposite side of the bed , [this will happen]...' or things will go differently than they're supposed to but the thing in life that i have more than anything else is my tendency to go left in most situations because of the fact that i'm left handed. If given the option, i'll always turn left without giving it much thought. If given a ring, i'll wear it on my left hand/wedding finger even though i'm not married. I always get out of bed on the left side, not because i tell myself i have to; i just do it.

When she says she's got this, i believe her. So i'm going about this not in worry mode like usually would but with a placid mentality thinking: PLEASE DON'T EXPLODE THIS ANY BIGGER THAN IT HAS TO BE OR I'LL PANIC AND RUIN THINGS.

So when the time comes and we're actually driving, i'll dissolve into a million pieces properly and She can laugh at me because i'm being ridiculous.

prev / next

posted on 2011-11-05 @ 2:28 p.m.