New York, New York.
I knew Texas was too slow paced for you. I could always sense it. You needed to be somewhere exciting, somewhere that suited youinstead of this small litle town. For some reason that i haven't figured out yet, you sat next to me one day in 2006 and we've been best friends ever since. You were simpler back then but i always knew you'd leave. I'd like to think that every time we were together you enjoyed more of the simpler things, the smaller things. I think that if i asked you to, you'd sit out on the curb with me and just watch the cars go by and genuinely enjoy it. I think in some ways i made you forget about the stress you put on yourself daily. I liked that you had this guard up that i could destroy in one second. I liked that you thought the world about me even if i didn't think the same thing about myself. I tried to give you as much love as i could because i knew you didn't always have as much. I'd lean against you on the couch and felt you laugh at something on the television and i would just have that inner peace knowing you were okay even if it was just for a few hours. It's your birthday today but i don't know what to say anymore. We haven't talked much since i lashed and called you power-hungry but i don't take it back, it's the truth. I had a knot in my throat just thinking it was all you wanted. If you couldn't have someone's love, you'd go to the next thing and it killed me knowing we were pulling apart from one another. You're going away now. You told me you'd stay but now you're going to New York City where there are people by the millions and everything goes 1,000 times faster. No more little of these small Texas towns, no more going to Whataburger with you and trips to the neighborhood Ice Cream Store. No more kisses on my forehead from you and Journey playing in the background.
You're leaving. I'm too afraid to call you because i'd cry if you left without coming over to say goodbye to me. All i can say is Happy Birthday. All i can say is i hope you're happier in New York. It'll be easier to forget me with all the people you'll meet there. You're on your pedastal now and i couldn't get you down in time to make you realize that i loved you my friend and that even though i wasn't IN love with you like you hoped, that the love i feel for you as a friend...as MY best friend is just as amazing. Happy Birthday Again. It was a joy running into you, knowing you, being your friend. Perhaps New York will have everything this town didn't.

prev / next
posted on 2011-06-27 @ 8:03 p.m.