Daisy, Work, 4th of July.
"Hola Princesa..."
That's what she always said to me when she saw me. Her steps were fragile and slow but she'd get to me just to put her arms around me and keep me in a long, loving hug. She never called me by my first name. Some people i know call me by my middle name because for some reason, they could never really remember how to pronounce my first name. I got used to hearing "Sara�" right around the time i was 17 and i respond to both equally.
I never understood why she always called me Princesa until i looked it up in a baby book that was laying around the store, then i understood. Sara� means Princess.
Daisy died yesterday while i was at work. She wasn't as old as you would think but she had some sort of condition that noone really knew the ins and outs about. They had her on life support and yesterday at 2:00p.m. while i was working my ass off on an 8 and a half hour shift, they pulled her off the life support and she was gone. My mother and father where there to see her pass on and i wasn't.
I used to call Daisy "Happy Feet" because during church, she'd dance around with colorful fabrics and she'd sway them all over. We'd all giggle at it but i always thought she was a very loving woman. I'll never get to hear her call me Princesa ever again and that makes me a little sad.


* I didn't think i'd make it through this weekend. I've been coming home to just sleep, then it's getting up to go back to work. I have tomorrow off which is the only reason i'm up right now. Today was painfully slow. I was caught up with everything and i didn' know what else to do. I had a good 3 hours to spare with nothing to do. Time goes by slow when you have nothing to keep you busy. Sure, there was the occassional customer, but not like we usually have on the weekends. Stacey had me put out some freight but the store was full. I cut my finger while trying to open a box but it wasn't bad. Michael almost scared me with a story about how a cut he had got severely infected and how his whole hand had gotten affected by it. I just leaned against the Customer Service desk with my eyes wide and listening to him. We were all bored out of our minds. Mandee was the only manager there and she'd only pop up once in awhile to make sure everything was running smooothly. I took 2 breaks but nothing made time go by any faster. Sometimes i'd go in and sit in one of the fitting rooms for 10 minutes. It was THAT slow. I got off at 7:30, went to BK for some Texas Burger thing, then came home to peace. Changed out of my clothes and into a T-shirt and those comfy p.j. pants i got at Sam's.

*It didn't even feel like 4th of July. I honestly haven't seen a fireworks show since i was 16 (going on 17 in August.) Missed it again this year. What a bummer.

prev / next

posted on 2010-07-05 @ 12:31 a.m.