Power meets our End.
He finally wrote me back after about 3 weeks. We were having a normal conversation that then turned into some nonsense that finally led me to call him power-hungry. He told me he would rather have people respect him than have love. I dissagreed with him completly but after i said what i did, he logged off our chat window. I thought he'd call me or come over so we could talk about it, but it never happened. I just recieved this e-mail from him:

I must admit I have became power hungry because I feel all ambitious men must crave power in some form or fashion. However, that is not all i want. Just an important aspect of my life. You must realize it's my experiences that have made me this way. All the men in my family have been weakened and they've lost their lives or liberty. I don't make friends anymore but just respect everyone I come into contact with. I feel like the person I am becoming is better because I am no longer emotionally attached therefore making me stronger and more disciplined. I appreciate your concern for me. I'm sorry but I am no longer the person you met..."


***
I'm sorry but that's just not going to cut it for me. It hurt my feelings, but not in a terrible way. I felt sorry that it got to this point. How can you be best friends with someone who thinks like that. So, he's right. he is not the person i met and grew to love as my best friend 4 years ago. If there is one thing i dislike, is being around people who can't stop for just one second to enjoy life, to be carefree...stop thinking about dominating the world and having others respect you just for the sake of having power. If this is how it's going to be, i don't see how we can be around eachother. That would always be the pink elephant in the room. He sounded like he chose power over our friendship so i let him. I've changed in that aspect now. Although it's unfortunate and sad, i'm not going to have a pity party about it. Time to move on. On to the next phase in life. You can't let other people's behavior stop you. Certainly won't let this bump in the road do that.
So i say, Good luck with your power. Hope you don't get lonely up there on your pedastal.


prev / next

posted on 2011-06-16 @ 10:50 p.m.