I'll be seeing you.
I don't remember the exact date when we met but now, i wish i did.
I love those stories in which you realize that if you had done something different that day, perhaps it would of changed the way things had turned out.
I met Polanco that way. I was working on my blog and typing. Class had been cancelled. At that moment i didn't really know who the person sitting to my right was. He was like any other person minding his own business, working on a paper, concentrated on his own task.

He turned to me spoke to me first and when i looked at him, he smiled at me and asked me a question about my writing. From that day on, we saw each other occasionally and then he figured out that i liked being in the lab and he'd frequent it more and we became regular acquaintances.

Weirdly enough, we didn't become good friends until he left CVC. We even had a class together but we never sat next to each other or talked a lot. We'd watch me walk past the lake, sit on the benches or see me talking to a friend and he'd call out to me from a distance. I'd smile at him and shake my head.

I didn't even know when it happened but he and i grew so close. He would always laugh at everything i said. He is one of the best friends i've ever had. We are nothing alike. We don't like the same music, people, things... and still he managed to win me over making me feel appreciated. "You are like a flower", he'd say. He stuck up for me when i needed him.

Now he's gone...
To New York. I didn't get to say goodbye or give him one last hug. I didn't get to tell him that i would miss him. He'd have this sweet way of hugging me, then look at me, then kiss me on my forehead.

Friends like him are hard to find. He has changed now since i met him. His exterior is harder but one of the things that i know for sure is that with me, all of his defenses, all of his walls came down. He didn't have to argue, get angry or defend himself. With me, everything was simple, happy. He could breathe. He said i always made him forget about all the bad things. I made him laugh. I gave him peace. It's going to be hard knowing that i won't be able to tell him to come over, to come and hang out with me.

We both knew he would leave someday. This city wasn't enough for him. He wanted something his own speed. I just didn't think he'd leave without coming to see me. I was gone. In Mexico. I wasn't with him on his last day in Texas.

There's not many men i trust or care about this much. Polanco is one of those i do care about with all my might.
I am going to miss him. I thank him for sticking up for me, for defending me against Angelica. He didn't have to do that, yet he didn't think twice about keeping my honor in tact. I will never forget that. It takes a true gentleman to do the right thing, to be fair, to learn how to treat a friend and he's done that for me. A True best friend.


xoxoxoxoxo

prev / next

posted on 2012-08-06 @ 4:07 p.m.