Sharing my Affections.
Yesterday Night was the start of us getting back to the groove of bible study. Dad is starting over with the whole deal which is kind of old news. I've seen this material about three times before. The usual people show up. My mom's sister, her husband, Fransico, Lorena, Robert.
Sandy comes too and she brings along Sophia. Patty shows up with the kids including J.J. who is Sophia's same age, born on the same day, same year. I might have already mentioned before how kids just seem to like being around me and vise versa. At the beginning of the night, J.J. comes runnning to me yelling "Kenet!" She jumps to hug me and tells me "I've missed you so much!" and i hug her and give her kisses which make her giggle. The whole church hoopla starts, it ends. Sophia was off doing her own thing, playing with her toys and pillow pet. As soon as it's all over, we're all saying goodbye and J.J. comes up to me again and hugs me and gives me kiss on the cheek. I'm a very amorous and affectionate person,and being that i love kids and love showing them that i care, i hug J.J. playfully and tell her she should come live with me.

I get out of the hotel, wait for mom to finish up something inside. Sandy is already inside her SUV and is about to leave. She sees me outside and rolls down her window. "Kenet, hey come here", she says. I go up to the car and she's kind of laughing. "Hey what's up?", i say. She motions for me to look towards the back seat, and i see Sophia crying hysterically.

*Minor detail: Sophia loves me alot and we're very close, and she gets slightly jealous.

So, i'm kind of surprised at first as to why she was crying, then it hit me. Crap. haha.

"Sophia told me you love J.J. more than her"

I looked towards the back seat. "What's wrong Babe?"
She starts crying and says: "You love J.J. more than me...i saw you hugging her!...i'm not gonna call you coconut anymore!"

Yup, that's a 5 year-old for you. Every time she gets mad at me, she threatens that she will no longer call me coconut anymore (which is a pet name she started calling me all on her own and it somehow stuck).
I know she'll forget about it next time i see her, but i had a nice laugh about it after i left. She wants the affection for herself only. I guess it had just slipped my mind that she might of been watching, but what can i say? Other kids want to come up to me, say hello and hug me. I might let her sleep over at my house just to make her feel better, but she's also got to learn not to be so selfish with other kids. Hopefully Kindergarden will help her develop more skills, and if not, i'll be glad to spend time showing her how, even though i'm not her mother. That's something Sandy needs to address with her, but it just goes to show you how unpredictable kids can be!

prev / next

posted on 2011-09-29 @ 7:41 p.m.