The Moon and the Fire.
Standing in a circle in front of a fire outside, i heard some of the "young people" speak about God and how everyone felt like family and long time friends. I kept looking up at the moon, uninterested in what they were all saying.

I didn't feel like i was with family. I know that feeling already. I've encountered people in life that have truly felt like a brother, sister, best friend and the feeling is great. People i meet and connect with and on this trip, i felt no such thing. There were maybe two or three people out of 50+ who did make an effort to speak to me. You have no idea how it feels to be "the new one". One of the girls came up to me tonight during dinner and she told me she felt love for me and she gave me a present. I felt her honesty. I believed her. The gift was a Mexican doll. I had always wanted one of those. I loved it. Some people cried when they expressed the "love" felt and i couldn't listen. I just kept looking up at the moon.

We roasted marshmallows and once i felt i had enough, i walked back on my own and here i am now. I hope i never have to come to one of these again. I will flat out refuse.

I'm tired. Tomorrow or better yet... later today, will a long, long day of traveling but i will be glad when i step out of that plane and smell the crisp cold air of Dallas.

I might not have had the best Christmas or overall experience but you learn things about others and yourself on trips like these. You learn to appreciate the people you have back home and yeah, some of your friends might not be so connected to God or even attend church as much but they have showed me more love, more kindness,faithfulness... more loyalty and friendship than any of these people have.

Thank you.

prev / next

posted on 2012-12-27 @ 1:20 a.m.