The BIG Shocker of the Year.
So, get ready for a bombshell. Roxanne, my cousin is getting married. I know this may not be so bad, but she's only 18. I guess i should start off by saying that she was only supposed to come visit us for a month, make some money with one of my aunts and then she'd go back to mexico.
Turns out, that out of the blue she decides to stay. She's already tried living here and she did for a couple of years with my mom's older sister and in the end it didn't work out. She met her now boyfriend Osiel not long after she went back.
God, he's wonderful. The way he treats her, loves her...gives her the world. Seeing the way he looks at her and the way she takes him for granted. She's been unfaithful to him a few times, only he has no idea. I don't know how long the flings went on, but Daniela her sister and one of my biggest confidants told me about those times.
I was shocked at first because her living here meant that she would leave him behind. The first thing we all thought was: 'what about Osiel?' we all know he would be willing to do anything for her, but the fact that she decided on a whim to live here and not even consider him, was just selfish.
Whenever i see Osiel, i hug him and the last time i saw him, i said "Cuidala. Y si te vuelve loco, llamame y yo la regano" which means: "Take care of her and if she drives you crazy, call me and i'll scold her".
He smiled at me and promised me he would.
Rox was born here in Dallas, so she's the only one that can choose to live here if she wanted. I just wish that when she was here, she wouldn't gossip. She's a gossiper and she's gotten some of us in hot water with her big mouth. If you look at her, at first glance you see a pretty girl with tan skin, dark hair and and a friendly personality, but sometimes you wonder just how genuine she is. Her and Danny are the ones that share my last name. Their dad is my dad's brother and their mom is my mom's sister.
Then one day i guess she sat down with my aunt and i don't even know how it happened, but the next thing you know, she announces on Facebook that she's getting married. I was a little blue about it. She didn't even call me to tell me.
Alot of people assumed she was pregnant. and i mean, why wouldn't they? She's 18, she's been dating Osiel for 2 years now and all of a sudden she comes to Dallas...and now she's saying she's going to get married? I would think the same thing. But no, she's not pregnant. I'm actually surprised she's not. She's had sex...lots of times. We never ask about her relationship and if she's had sex before but none of us were born yesterday. We know. We just don't ask.

They are getting married December 16th. I don't know if i can grasp this yet. I'm emotional about it now, because it hadn't hit me yet when i found out. She's 18, you know? It's not like he was going anywhere. He loves her, and for a long time i just never understood why. She's not exactly girlfriend of the year. He's such a great, great guy and she should consider herself lucky.

The only thing i dislike is that the wedding will be somewhat small, and i mean don't get me wrong...there's nothing wrong with small weddings. I would have a small wedding, but one thing i would ask for would be that my wedding dress be amazing. My aunt Dora took her to fucking Harry Hines Bazaar. Oh God. If you've never been to anything like that, or know what it is...it's basically like a hispanic trashy, unorganized version of a mall. The worst and last place you'd ever want to shop for a wedding dress. I was talking to my mother about it before Rox had even called to tell her about going there for her dress. I was hoping Denisse, Rox, Sandy and I could all go to Emma's Boutique or David's Bridal and we could shop with her, but my heart kind of sunk when i found out she had already gotten her dress. I don't know as of yet how it looks or anything, so i'm kind of worried/curious.
Mom and i were in the kitchen talking about it all.

"Mom...i don't mind small weddings...but when i get married...-IF i get married-, let me tell you now that the dress is the only thing i want to be awsome if i couldn't afford a big wedding. I want to go to Kleinfeld in New York to shop for my dress" then i laughed, teasing her about it a bit. She went along with my fantasy for a bit. A girl can dream, right?

I just can't believe Rox is doing this. I hope she knows what she's doing. I'm not worried about Osiel; he's wonderful and he's madly in love with her. It's Rox i'm worried about....eh we're all worried.

I hope this goes well.

prev / next

posted on 2011-10-04 @ 5:46 p.m.