Where we Are.
Honestly, i can't believe this is the place we are at right now. Working from home did not meet my expectations. God, that was such a bummer for me. I was advocating for this long before COVID was a thing. I tried working remotely. I had everything set up to remote in to my PC at the office but after 3 days of a horrible dragon, an ethernet cable and Cisco kicking me out, i threw my hands up and went back to our office building.
I am fortunate that i had that choice and that the building did not close down. We never got a case and my boss along with the leads are still working in the building in case someone needs to have their PCs rebooted.
So i still make the one hour drive which has now cut down to 40 minutes because there is no traffic. I can't tell you how much I will miss that when things get back to normal. I take just about every precaution and go from work to home and stay in the house. Not much different from my normal pre-covid life. It's funny how these stories are out of people that can't stay home and are going bonkers abusing their kids or having anxiety attacks. I mean, i start to squirm if i spent too much time at a Marshall’s or Ross but can happily stay at a bookstore for hours.
I've watched a lot of movies and read a ton of books. I enjoy my solitude very much. Makes me think what a joy it will be when i get married. My boyfriend is a cave wonder, just like me with the exception of his gaming and soccer habits. I can picture reading a book while he yells at the television during a pro soccer game.
Speaking of which, he is supposed to come in October but i don't know how long all this madness is supposed to go on. My spidey senses tell me it could very well be okay to travel again but then again, who knows? I am not usually a pessimist but i am cautious. I'd like to think it will be fine to travel by then. I'd like to think he will propose to me even though dad does such an amazing job at being his stoic self that i am surprised he hasn't scared off my boyfriend permanently with all the circling around and all the expectations.
My boyfriend works nights now and even though our time difference is only 2 hours, i am sleeping while he is awake and i am working while he is passed out cold catching up on Zzzz’s.
Overall, its a better deal for him to work nights. It's less stressful on him on the actual job and it keeps me sane because he was robbed at gunpoint twice walking home and i was a complete mess both times it happened.
I hope he can travel. We’ll see about that.
There's still time for a Plan B if needed.


prev / next
posted on 2020-04-28 @ 5:50 p.m.