Concern is the new Fear.
I don't know how many people have this problem but my sense of direction while driving is not that great. I should pay more attention but at times, i just don't bother to.

I've had dreams where I'm driving and i don't know where i am or how to get back to a familiar place. I guess a lot of people have dreams like that but a fear like that becoming real is quite different.

If the distance is long (like most are in a big city) it takes me a few tries plus REALLY paying attention to remember how to go to and from.

One of my biggest fears has always beengetting lost...
but you gotta conquer fears at some point and I don't want that holding me back.

The thing is, i don't want those things that bother me to be called fears anymore because when you let something become a fear, you give it permission to control your emotions. Fear is a big word wrapped so deceitfully in four letters but it holds such negative possibility which we ultimately decide to let it dominate.

I'd rather call anything i go through a concern. At least then i know that concerns are typically things that are addressed and when you label something a fear, you pretty much expect it to linger without a time limit. we see fears as something we can never get over because we don't know how to get over them, like they're inevitable so we think we're dealing with them simply by putting up with the fact that they're there.

If I'm overthinking, fine but i feel better surprisingly. Maybe getting lost is the only way of finding your way back.

I just hope i learn before i too get lost.

prev / next

posted on 2015-10-14 @ 1:45 p.m.