step up.
They wanted me to miss work sunday. i just knew.
Luckily, it wasn't made out to be a big deal since..well, it's not. I'm basically the translator for my dad at our small church and now that my cousin got married and her husband is half black half white, he doesn't speak a word of Spanish so i guess you can say the gig is now permanent. I have work from 9-5:30 that day and our church hours go from 11:30-1:30.
Yeah, there's no way I'm going to miss work.
I had made it clear a week and a half in advance that I'd have to work and my supervisor needs my help.
So, i told mom that i couldn't miss it. 8 and a half hours of paid work missed for what... 1 and a half hours, Tops of UNPAID translation? it was an easy decision. I'd just like to know that when i am unable to be at a service, that i can count on some other more than able member to step up to the plate and say they will take care of it. I know i am the best at doing it but that doesn't mean that someone else can't just because they aren't as fluid as i am. there are a handful of bilingual members there but they all like to pretend like they can't do it.
Besides that, I'm already missing work Monday because i have jury duty.
They are going to ask L.C. to do it Sunday, so i don't have to call in. i shouldn't even have to. i should be able to feel okay knowing i have someone to back me up without having to ask them if they'd be willing to take my spot for one Sunday.

It's hard to rely on people for even the most basic things or simple favors. When it comes to others claiming to want to help? it's just nothing but a lot of talk. They say many things but hide behind excuses at the last minute.

I do this for free to help my dad out and i do it because i want J.B. to be at a place where he can understand what is being spoken without the language barrier getting in the way...
but if you expect for me to miss a good day's work because no one else wants to step up, be prepared to be fair and pay me. i have bills that no one will be paying for me when the mail comes. if not, I'm going to work.
Maybe this is what it's going to take to get more members to do more than just sit in a chair. God's work isn't just for the pastor and his family. We are all one body serving the same God.

prev / next

posted on 2015-10-02 @ 4:21 p.m.