Loving for Today. Loving for Tomorrow.
Today felt like a fast flash. Call me crazy but i was actually glad to go back to work. It felt like i hadn't been there in ages. I wasn't gone that long but it's as if though everything surrounding my grandfather's death went by too quickly to feel or process.

It felt like people were glad to see me. Stacey smiled so big when she saw me. Her eyes were bright and in our 3 minute conversation about me being gone, she said she was glad i was back about 5 times.

There was no question Maria was glad to see me. She says it's never the same without me, that she needs me and then i saw her take in a breath of relief when she saw me walking into the building. We talked and talked like we usually do and tears are always filling up in her eyes because i know that some of the things i say to her strike her down to the core of herself. She says i remind her of what's really important and that she needs my guidance. I never thought i would be guiding someone older than me but she takes what i say and keeps it within her soul. I can feel that in her. She said she thought about me daily and hoped i was okay.

I just never thought i'd be that person for someone...
The kind of person people know and say "Nothing is ever the same when you are not around..." and i've found myself in that situation now. Several people who let me know that i am important and that when i have to take off far away like last week, that the fact that i am gone is felt. That makes me feel incredibly happy and loved. I need to know that sometimes, because i get weak like everyone else. I am only human. I also want to be held. I want to lean. I want to cry and i want to feel loved.

We forget to appreciate people. I try not to let that happen. I just know that life is too unpredictable to leave things for later. Why say i love you later when you can do it today?
Why say you care only on special occasions?
Why wait too long to tell someone they mean the world to you?

I could die unexpectedly, just like Grandpa. I could be gone, and i just want to know that i know everything important there is to know about the people in my life near and far.

So i'll make you laugh.
I'll tell you i love you 100 times.
I'll smile at you.
I'll hug you.

...and i'll tell you that you mean the world to me.



prev / next

posted on 2013-04-27 @ 9:48 p.m.