Not important.
I flat out refused to go to Houston next weekend.

My folks are going for some kind of churchy marriage seminar with other couples in our congregation, then suddenly the invitation became open for singles who are age appropriate for marriage.
There simply just wasn't enough of a time gap for me to request off and with no one else solid enough to run my department at work, there was no way. Mother actually told me i should call them and tell them i wasn't going but i don't want to do that. That crap counts against you and i didn't want to lose the hours. I need them to pay my bills.

She insisted that going was important but my views on what is actually important are not the same as hers. I've been to plenty of these things over the years and i doubt anything will truly fascinate me this time around. I don't need someone telling me from a podium the 'right kind of person' i should date or marry. That's something that will be 100% my decision. I did not find this worth missing work over, for a lousy weekend in Houston? No thanks.

I'm sure they would of stuck me baby sitting in some shape or form while i was there. They already threw my name around without even asking me if i wanted to do it. Some people think that just because a person is nice that they will automatically say yes to everything. Last i checked, manners still mattered and the polite thing to do is ask the person if they can, not just volunteer them.


I'm staying put in Dallas.
So that's that.

prev / next

posted on 2013-02-16 @ 11:26 p.m.