Destiny or Choice.
When i talked to my dad about going away to school, it really seemed like this was a golden opportunity to start somewhere else. He DID ask me about schools in Texas but since i had only briefly researched, i hadn't remembered. There is a school in Dallas. University of Texas that could offer me a Language degree.

However...

Call me stubborn, but i really do not want to stick around here. My wish is to live somewhere else, anywhere else BUT here.
I've been doing some searching and i think i've finally decided *drum roll* that i want to go for a Medical Interpreter Degree.

I don't want to jump right into the Iowa schools- that would be way too obvious. If i can at least tip toe around the state or get as close to it for now that would be some start. There is a school i found called Northwestern College. It's In Orange City, Iowa and they offer a bachelor's in that area.
The first thing i want to do is NOT jump straight into a Bachelor's Program. I want to get an Associate's Degree first. It's less shocking. Once i get at least an Associate's, THEN i could try for my Bachelor's. The idea right now is to have some kind of certification. Western Iowa Tech Community College offers that Associates and Certificate degree.

I don't want to be the girl who bases decisions around a boy but i think that after many years, he's obviously not just [a boy] and i wouldn't even be thinking about this if that were the case.

At least right now, thank GOD i now have a base and at least there is a name for whatever i want to do. My mom has said that when she moved to Dallas in 1987, there were hardly any Hispanics around so it was harder for them to communicate, get jobs and find help. Now, this city (and state overall) is over populated with our culture and finding a job for my field will be a bit competitive. States LIKE Iowa or Minnesota that aren't so populated with Hispanics and could certainly be used in Hospitals and Healthcare Facilities.

Whatever the case, i'm keeping the tabs open on my computer. I need to think about this more and probably ask for spiritual guidance. I want my next move to be the right one for me. Wherever i end up, i just want God behind me the whole way. Whether it's a bit of destiny or my own choice. Please, let this be right.

prev / next

posted on 2012-09-05 @ 1:06 p.m.