Mexican Update.
Reynosa, Tamaulipas Mexico


It is hard to avoid food here, so i will not even try to.

We had a very nice Mexican Cookout today but before even that happened, i went to a few stores where it seems that everything food-wise is better, more creative and looks so appealing. You would be amazed watching the kids working at the grocery store here. They will bag your things for you and you give them a tip. Yes, they allow children to work. How young, i dont know but one i saw looked around 7 years old. They would never allow that in the U.S. but here, people need money so seeing kids working is normal. My mom is always generous and i would be too. Kids should not be working so young.

Once at the store, we bought soft drinks and came back to Grandma's house while everyone else cooked stuff on the grill. Its hot outside, but its not too unbearable. I like being here but after a few days the heat gets to you and i have to keep track of everything i bring. I cannot lose sight of my cell phone, kindle, glasses, ipod, wallet or anything important. If i leave something somewhere, its gone within minutes beause of the amount of people who come in and out of the house. Its easy for anyone to move my purse out of the way and put it somewhere else without asking me. Once we got here Friday Night, dad did not even stop at one of those money huts that trade your American money into Mexican. Well, i did not even stop at an ATM either. All i have is my Debit card so i practically have no money.
I have not needed to spend any anyway but there are things here that they do not sell back home or anywhere in the U.S. that are so yummy.

Hoping to come home soon, but for now im enjoying being here and now that grandpa is better and recovering, i can stop worrying about my dad.

I still have not gotten any kind of signal, not even one bar. i used to before but maybe it all depends on what phone you have. I feel a little helpless if i dont have any kind of connection to home. im so used to texting and staying in touch through my phone. I can easily get on Facebook or Skype but no one i know has been on Skype so i log off.

Well, im off. The night is kinda nice.
Also, i really want some Hot Funyuns.

xoxoxoxo

prev / next

posted on 2012-07-29 @ 8:25 p.m.