Hail Storm.
I'm calmer.
Better.
Yesterday was interesting. i was leaving the building after my shift ended. I saw the rain and it surprised me because the sun had been out and shining an hour before in full splendor. i hesitated for a moment unsure if i should wait a little because my car parked 2 stores down. i stood there then said "ah, screw it" so i ran all the way down to my car soaked and waited about 2 minutes before pulling out of the lot. i headed out past home depot and alberton's and made it to the 'Only' to turn left when the rain came down so hard that i couldn't see. a few moments later, the hail started. i didn't panic but i needed to make a decision...fast. the car in front of me turned right around and it was too dangerous for me to risk crashing so i turned back around too and made it back as far as home depot. i parked my car by the entrance and stayed there while the hail storm seemed to be getting worse. i called Maria who was still at our store. "where are you? Dont drive. dont move. stay where you are", she said.
I was fearful about staying in my car because the size of the hail was big and i was afraid it would break my windows. the wind was blowing so hard that i felt the car move. it was a good thing i parked so close to those automatic doors. i turned the car off and switched to the passenger seat. i decided to get out and run for it. i locked my car and went inside where a large group of people were already gathered and frantic on their phones. i called mom but she wouldn't pick up. i texted, called again...no response. i finally got a hold of my aunt and told her that Cedar Hill was under a rough hail storm. apparently, my town wasn't affected even though it was only 25 minutes away.
The wait felt eternal as i stood there watching. The hail and rain was so loud, you had to yell at the person next to you. i was alone with only my car keys and small purse. i was shivering from getting wet with no jacket and no umbrella. The sky looked apocalyptic...grey and yellow.
When it stopped suddenly, i got in my car and hauled ass. As i drove off and into the Only waiting for the arrow to turn green, it was flooded. I could hear the water hitting my tires. It felt like i was in a mini river and when arrow turned green, i hit the accelerator and beat every yellow light. I went 50 in a 45 zone and 55 in a 50 zone but i slowed down once i got to the 35 because cops flood that area like crazy. the rain got down to a light drizzle as i got closer to home but the sky still looked threatning. pulling out in front of my house i took a breath. thank God i didn't get stuck.
I should be used to the insane weather here but you never really get used to it...you just deal.


prev / next
posted on 2012-06-14 @ 5:30 p.m.