All the Misery & Beer in the World...
Ty decided to try church. Shocking!I know. It was actually a group thing, which didn't precisely put the spotlight on him, but he said he liked it so much, he'd go back. I was actually giving him that option a few times after his moods started changing and he became more depressed. I don't usually recommend church when i'm giving 'therapy' but only reserve it for people that are:

A.- Open to the Idea and believe well enough in a higher power and do not have a personal hatred for God.

B.- Have completely lost their minds and this is a last ditch effort to gain some clarity and sanity and also, have nothing else to lose at this point.

Keep in mind: Alcohol is good for the first few hours to help you forget your misery, but it will not make the misery go away. Shocking revelation, i know. But hey, there's still people out there who seem to believe in the miraculous healing powers of a good Corona Extra.

Ty was one of those. He enjoys his Four Lokos, but at the end of the day, your beer isn't going to give you a hug, which is what most people want, if not that, to simply beat the shit out of something like the decorative pillow in the next room.

I will admit that the key to my own healing came from none other than God. Sure, i cried along the way, but it wasn't something that was preventing me from living. I actually tried to live happily and a positive attitude and the choice i made to be okay, were great contributing factors. I had conversations in my head at night with God and sometimes they lasted a long time. I had some realizations and moments where i had amazing clarity. It's all about a choice. If you choose to be unhappy and choose to do things that you know for a fact will have a bad outcome, do not complain when your life is a tangled mess. I said that very thing to Ty even though i knew he'd struggle. I struggled, so i couldn't say these things without giving myself a lesson too. No matter what, mistakes are going to be made even if you know the right solution is around the corner.

However, you can only keep making the same mistake so many times before you have to forcefully ask yourself these questions:

1. Where is this path leading me?
2. What am i getting out of it?
3. What's going to happen if i keep doing this to myself?
4. Do i really want to live like this for the rest of my life?


Tough things to ask. Most of us don't think we deserve to be happy. That's the problem. There is no self-love anymore. This might sound a bit TOO overused, but i wouldn't say it if i didn't think it was true in some way. You cannot love anyone sincerely and honestly until you've shown [yourself] that you are worthy of being loved, accepted, and that life isn't about being miserable. It's about opening your eyes to the people that would walk through fire for you and the ones who would leave you out on the side of the road to die.

So, i shook the notion out of Ty that he "needed" certain people or things in his life to fill the gap. He had that gap all along, and no amount of beer would fill it.

I've never been a drinker. The closest i had ever come to alcohol was my mother's Wine Cooler and a sip of my dad's Cerveza Sol while on vacation in Guanajuato. I coped with misery with a pen and paper and i've got four notebooks to prove it. Dare i say i don't want to go back and read those. The things i used to be upset about seem laughable now but seemed very real to me at the time. Let's face it: When you're happy, you can only say it so many different ways and that can only amount to three sentences, tops. It's only when we feel like life isn't worth living that we write/type until we can't feel our fingers. There's always a part of me that feels the need to save, like a hero...only sitting on a couch on the opposite side of someone, even if my own life is in shambles.

prev / next

posted on 2011-10-12 @ 12:48 a.m.