If it's in my hands, let it be done.
It was a slow work day.
Which just brings me to my next point. They're cutting hours like crazy for next week. I looked at Dianna's schedule and they've only got her down for ONE Day. If any of my readers don't already know, Dianna is on her own. She's been divorced 5 years. One day, her husband woke up and told her he wanted a divorce. He said there was no one else but those kind of heartless bastards always say there's no one else. There was. Some woman named Maria which he recently married. Anyway, He left and she kept the house but without his support, she had to file bankruptcy and aside from having bills, insurance, groceries, she has this massive doctor bill she has to keep paying because there has been something wrong with her stomach for about a year. Tell me how someone can survive off of working ONE day for 5 hours in an entire week?! In the past i've given her gas money and i've bought her groceries. I love her. I've gotten so close to her and i consider her to be one of my closest friends in spite of the fact that she's older- 56 but age is irrelevant. When i saw her hours today, i called her up and told her. She knew about it and was hoping that someone would call her in next week. I just couldn't help it, i wanted to cry for her. I couldn't just sit there and watch her starve. She's supposed to move in with her daughter Stacy but first Dianna has got to sell her house, then Stacy's and God knows how long that's going to take. "You've got to do something Di. Tell them...everyone here knows this is the only job you've got...you're on your own, no one helps you!" She tells me the same thing she always does: 'i tell them, they know...they won't do anything'
"You know what?!", i said....
"I'm not going to sit here and watch you starve. I'm going to do something about this."

So, i decided to talk to Justin. He's not the main manager but today he was the one we had. He was sitting in the breakroom eating a huge sandwhich. I looked at him enjoying that thing and i wondered if Dianna had anything to eat at home.

"Hey Justin? Listen, i talked to Dianna today and you know that this is the only job she's got and her hours next week are kind of awful. She might not have any money right now. Now i know that as far as hours go, y'all might not be able to do anything, but i actually thought it would be a great idea if we could all pitch in and make a donation for her, you know...so she can get gas or groceries..."

Justin, who's normally silly, dumb, playful was nodding seriously at me even though he was chewing during my little speech. He agreed with me but told me i should get together with M-Tosh who is our main manager. I nodded at him. "Yeah, i kind of figured she was the one i had to go to, but since you were here, i figured i'd tell someone".

I left work...walked towards my car and once i sat in the driver seat, i took a deep breath.

"Thanks for caring", Dianna had said.
-"Of course i care. I love you to death and i just felt i had to do something"

Those words kind of circled around in my thoughts for a little bit, then i finally drove off towards home.

prev / next

posted on 2011-09-21 @ 11:34 p.m.