How Do i Know?
Currently Listening:
Artist: Boston
Track: My Destination
Album: Third Stage
Last.Fm Plays: 2,258
Position:#1

I sat on my cousin's bed, indian style. Her room was dim with only the closet light open a crack. She was fixing her blouse about a million times trying to make it look just right. She talked about her ex-boyfriend and her old friend Juan who was coming into her life again. I listened, but mostly threw out my opinions and feelings. She knows what she gets when she asks me for my opinion. It kind of all ended with her exclaiming: "How did you know?!...dude that's kind of creepy"
I threw myself back on the bed and laughed. I'm used to those freaked out responses from people. She stopped for a few moments to contemplate and we'd sit there and play songs we used to like when we were 12...when we thought Freddie Prince Jr was our ideal guy and love didn't hurt yet.
Then i told her the story about a co-worker of mine named Damita. Right around the time i started working at Kohl's, i found out her husband had been in a coma for months because of a spider bite. Weeks later, he passed away and Damita took a long absense.
A few months later during my break. I was sitting with Diana having a quick coffee and across the way at the other table were a few other co-workers. There was a table and sitting there was Jennifer, J.P, Kathleen and Damita and Bryant. I looked at both Damita and Bryant for a few moments. They weren't speaking to eachother, they were each just having their own coffee and snack. I whispered to Diana: "You see those two...? they have something. I don't know what, but it's something. i can feel it. Remember my words later on. Those two are going to have a thing"

A few months later, Mandee tells me they're dating. "I knew it", i said. I laughed, a little in shock and just out of plain amazement. Physically those two never really showed they were together. Understandibly because Damita lost her husband and because people at work like to gossip about crap all the time. There were some opinions about that relationship after it was found out, but Damita had every right to date and be with whomever.

I'm not saying i'm always right. I know i'm very much capable of being wrong. It's just a feeling i get. I don't hear voices like freaking Joan of Arc. It's a feeling and words just come to me. it's weird. Maybe its because im sensitive to people's emotions, or the fact that i pay attention to body language, expressions and words. It doesn't happen with everyone i see either. It's hard to explain, but it happens.

Overall, it was a great day yesterday. I was very tired after i got home last night and went straight to bed. I'm getting ready for church now and also, it's my mom's 41st birthday today. I'm definately not going to stay out late tonight though!

xoxoxoxo.



prev / next

posted on 2011-09-11 @ 1:33 p.m.