Thrifting!
On my grandparents last day in Dallas, we went to Thrift World. I like thrift stores alot, not necessarily because of the clothes though. I might find something here and there that would catch my eye. I'm a fan of funny t-shirts and i like wearing them too.
However, i am also a fan (if you hadn't guessed by now) of everything old school, vintage, retro, 70's, 80's.
I skipped looking at the clothes (even though i found some good ones) and went for the back section where i was most likely to find something good.

I found -get this- Forrest Gump on VHS, perfectly good for 95 CENTS! That's one of my favorite movies of all time and i was very excited to find it. I know i could of gotten it on DVD at some other store but i just never got around to it. So i was happy to have gotten it that cheap.
Now, they had some records, which i would love to start collecting. I saw this Perry Como record in great condition. I didn't get it even though i absolutely love Perry Como. I want to go somewhere else to start looking at records with more variation. Their selection was very mediocre. They should have more of that stuff and not so poorly scattered about because records are sensitive and have to be handled with care.

As i went around the isles, i suddenly stopped. Sitting all by her lonesome, was this...

Photobucket

I couldn't believe it. Yup, Rainbow Brite. As you can see by the picture i took, I was shocked at how good she looked. Her hair was beautiful, not a scratch on her. I wasn't sure if i should get her. I wanted her. This would be such a good collector's item. After spotting her, I walked away only to return 5 minutes later to get the doll before anyone else did. I paid 5 dollars for it. Not bad. She was perfecly well kept so the price was fair.
It's funny though, when i saw her, my first thought besides "Oh, my God.." was this little funny scene we all know...
From Family Guy. I believe it is from an episode where Peter is trying to teach a class about safe sex or whatever. The props he's got are a Rainbow Brite doll and a Shakespeare Head. All i could hear in my head was:

"Hey Rainbow Brite"
-Hey Shakespeare
"I'm all done writing plays for the day, perhaps we could have sexual intercourse?"

Then the banging of the 2 of them together. haha! Interesting thing to pop in your head at that moment.
Anyway, just wanted to share my find. I love it. She's a good sized doll. Perhaps i wouldn't have been too creeped out had i not also seen a huge Chucky doll behind one of the counters at the register but i made it through the night okay...heh.

prev / next

posted on 2011-06-05 @ 1:05 p.m.