The Art of Gifting...
I hate Ross. It's worse than an actual thrift store. I went with mum in search of Pat's present. I think she turned 30 or something. While in the line, i recalled the 'birthday gift' she got me last year. I swear when she gave it to me i wasn't even expecting it because i never do. She didn't even put it in a bag... she just sort of handed it to me. It was a bag thing with 3 bottles of this awful smelling shit creams. One of them was a spray and it smelled just as bad. It reminded me of those little girl creams that smell strong and give you a lingering headache. I said thank you to her but inside i was like 'ugh'. My philosophy is: if you're going to give someone a gift, put some fucking thought into it. Even if the thing is 3 dollars, let it be useful and in good taste. I seriously felt like she had had those creams lying around for months in the dirty corner of her bedroom and wanted to get rid of them. Every time mum or i give gifts to people, we make sure the price is reasonable and that the present is something they would enjoy/like and use. Sometimes i think we put TOO much thought into the gifting but yo, what can i say? I like very much for the person to like my gift.
I would very much perfer to be given nothing than something you dug up at the last minute. Mind you, i had no proof of this but i have a sense about these things.
So, we picked Pat a nice bottle of Jessica Simpson Perfume.
Reasonable Price.
Smells Good.
And thought was put into it.
Seems simple enough and this is going to a woman who buys her clothes at the Dollar General by choice and not necessity. I think the perfume cost more than her entire wardrobe, no lie.
I saw her today and wished her a Happy Birthday and handed her her gift (which i wrapped) and told her that i hope she liked it. She didn't open it right then and there but as she hugged me, she said: "Oh, girl you know i love everything y'all give me" and that was that.
People just think that no one notices that when you give a person sprays, creams and bath stuff that you're really saying 'oh shit, i forgot...let me see what i can get at wal-mart real quick' kind of thing. don't lie. everyone has done it but suprisingly, i've never given anyone anything similar. I don't ever expect anything in return but dammmit, if you're going to gift me, make it look like you gave a shit.

prev / next
posted on 2011-03-14 @ 1:11 a.m.