Snow Wonderland.
The snow we had was just divine. Second year in a row that we get such massive snow fall. It almost seems unreal.
The downfall of all of this?
The State of Texas isn't prepared for weather conditions like these, which is why when something like this actually happens, its like the whole state shuts down. No one owns a shovel so if you're trying to get your car out of the driveway, you'll have to use your hands or some other handy object from your garage.
Schools were closed for almost an entire week and pretty big deal stores were closing up early. Accidents were happening non stop, no one wanted to brave the ice or snow. It just seemed safer to stay put.
I didn't go to work for 2 days but friday morning i woke up to an entirely white and bright neighborhood. The snow was deep and everywhere. I couldn't miss work anymore though because i can't really afford to anyway. I wasn't surprised to find that alot of my co-workers did not show up so there were only 4 of us total to unload a truck. plus the table and tower half of it. My schedule had said i would be there till 10:30 and Shawn laughed when i told him.
"You think you'll be out of here by 10:30?"
I shook my head. "Oh, i KNOW i won't be." but i didn't find it amusing that he laughed about it. The truck wasn't as massive as other times and i could actually handle doing the fold by myself. I told shawn i'd be leaving at noon and i did. I had no obligation to stay any longer. However, before be started unloading, i did some merchandising then took peeks outside, then as i listened to the automated voice saying there was calls for line 1,2 and 3, i knew well that those were people calling to say they weren't coming in and i wished then that i was back and snuggled in my bed too.

As of now, the snow is pretty much completely melted except some parts. It almost seems like it never happened.
They say it might snow again sometime next week and from the looks of last year when it snowed February 11th, maybe it might happen.

***
It's 1:00a.m. now. I think i'll go to sleep. I'm kind of tired.
Good night all.


prev / next

posted on 2011-02-06 @ 12:45 a.m.