Un- Thanksgiving.
If anyone (lately) has followed me on Twitter, FB, or has access to this diary knows i've been having a problem with my Volkswagen. Dad says the Transmission needs repair and as for 2 or 3 weeks, i have been low on money so getting my car fixed is not an option. If i had the money now, i could get it fixed now just in time before things get any worse. Problem is, i don't know when i'm going to be stable again. Against my will, i sort of had no choice. Dad and i talked about it and i decided to let my bug go. It was a 2005 Sunflower Yellow Volkswagen Beetle (used) with 70,000 miles on it and i got it in March just under $10,000. My payment was $226.00/month and my insurance was $80.00 (which is way too much!) but still i managed and i could also afford to give up to $250.00/month for my car payment. Dad said i'd be better off getting a new car, one not so expensive and also that my insurance wouldn't be that high. It sucked because i've always wanted a bug but i also kind of hated the color. See, my bedroom is already yellow and if you're wondering, no...my favorite color is NOT yellow...it's Green but all the other VW's were more expensive. Now that i think about it, we hadn't even gone to more than one dealership. We went to the one in Lewisville and i walked out with a car on the same day. I guess i should of known these cars were problamatic, but i didn't and now i've just wasted time. When i first saw the car on the lot after finding it a few days prior on the internet, i was listening to my ipod and right when i saw it, SRV's "Lenny" came on and that's why i named my car Lenny. Not that i had to, but hey, you only live once. Not to mention, i let my brother use it when i wasn't needed it so he'd be pretty embarrassed to drive it around and God knows all his friends made jokes about it all the time. Not that i gave a fuck. It was my car and i was the one paying for it. My only rule for him using it was Paying for Gas, otherwise, he could get a ride or walk to wherever he needed to go. Even so, I'm not that cold hearted. People who know me well know i'm just a softy but i wasn't about to listen to my brother's ranting over my car when i was letting him use it.

My mother left early this morning with Sandy, Denisse and her sister for Mexico so dad and my brother and i went looking at some cars. At first, i wanted a Ford Focus but then i saw the Ford Fiesta and i liked it alot, so i've kind of got my eyes on it and it is definately not yellow.
If you have access to this diary you also know we already celebrated thanksgiving like 2 weeks ago so we could all be together, so this is the reason i'm here. My "thanksgiving meal" was Whataburger (and it was one of the very few places that was open.) So my brother and i went to grab a couple burgers. while we waited for our food, he said: "i bet that guy is wondering why we're coming here on thanksgiving. i bet he's thinking we're weird for eating whataburger instead of turkey..."
I rolled my eyes. My brother thinks way to much about what others think. I leaned back against the wall and said:
"Well, he doesn't know the circumstances. What does he know? and if he thinks it's odd, then fine. We're not any diffrent than the man that just walked out of here a minute ago. And just so you know, thousands of people out there aren't eating turkey and don't have anyone to spend today with so let it go. You always think you're the only one dude....like you're abnormal because you aren't scarfing down turkey."
I grabbed the bag, thanked the cashier and left out into the cold. The breeze is tough and it feels like a blizzard might hit, only this is Texas. Hard to believe that just yesterday it was close to 80 degrees but if you live here long enough, you know this is just how the weather is. ever changing, like always.

So i'm sitting here in Jeansv that are a little too big, a light long sleeved grey shirt, sneakers and a pony tail. We had our own Thanksgiving but in a way it does feel slightly odd knowing the rest of the world is eating stuffing and the two of us are sipping the remainder of our coke from a Whataburger cup. Still, when i think about this as a whole, it's not that big of a deal.

prev / next

posted on 2010-11-25 @ 3:52 p.m.