Domestic Disturbance.
I was going in and out of drowsiness. I had two very early work days and i was starting to feel the effects of not being able to properly sleep. I wrapped up my Skype conversation with Tim earlier than usual even though i didn't have to work the next day. I still had to get up early to go to Patty's house for our study sessions. I decided to go right to bed. That was around midnight. I fell right into sleep.
Around one in the morning, i heard screams and sobs coming from my living room. Once i was able to gather in seconds that the noises were in f act screams, i whispered "mom..." I thought my mom was in trouble. Lots of things were going though my head. My heart started pounding. I ran out of my bedroom and headed towards the horrible noises.
Suddely, i see my mom hugging this black woman. She was sobbing like crazy. I was half awake and thought to be hallucinating. Mom in her broken english hugged her tight and told her: "It's going to be okay, you're safe..."
Who was this woman and what the hell was she doing here? I pressed my hands to my chest and started to inhale and exhale very deeply relieved that it wasn't mom who was in trouble. Quickly, mom told me that she was watching television and that this woman started frantically screaming that she needed help and that her boyfriend was going to kill her. Mom said she didn't know wether to believe her because people are very sick nowadays. She told mom she needed to use her phone and in a spilt second decision, mom let her in and locked the door. Apparently, her boyfriend had beated her, slapped her, scratched her, and tried to choke her. He also had a gun which mortified my mother. What if he had been after her? We could have been in real danger. She kept saying "Help me please! he's going to get me! I'm so scared!" She whined as she cried and i still couldn't get over the initial shock that she was standing near my front door paniked, afraid and wearing no shoes. She lives on the street behind us. She had been knocking on doors but no one wanted to answer. I grabbed the phone and she called 911. She could barely speak in complete sentences. Minutes later, there were alot of cops at our doors. They interrogated her and she told them all what happened. Mom called me over and i took a look at her back. He had scratched her there so HARD that he took off some skin and you could still see it bleeding. I wanted to cry when i saw her. Mom kept telling her that things would be okay. She held her and comforted her as best she could. Kristi (that's her name) would just keep saying how afraid she was and that she wanted to call her best friend Nicole. I sat on the couch nervous as hell and running my fingers through my hair.
This guy is apparently on probation for drug possesion and god knows what else. They have a six year-old together but luckily, she wasn't around when this whole thing happened. Finally, she calmed down enough to tell cops a second time what had gone on. He also tore off her wig (which she had glued to her hair) and i don't know much about the weaves they use but that's what she said he had also done. This whole thing lasted a good two hours. They finally were gathering up to go, she got ahold of her friend Nicole. Mom gave her her flip-flops since she was barefoot and they took off to the Police Station so her friend could pick her up there.

Never in my life did i ever expect this to happen. You see it go on, you watch it on T.V. or even in some movie but never to you. If this guy would of chased her here with that gun, things could of gone another way.
It was hard to sleep after all that.
I know what it's like to be a victim of domestic violence. I went through it with my dad watching him abuse my mother in front of me. I remember vividly being 6 years old and watching the Police take him away in handcuffs after i had confided in my teacher that he abused my mom.

Kristi in between her cries of desperation said "You don't know what it's like..."

But we did know.

prev / next

posted on 2010-08-11 @ 7:14 p.m.