Spanish.
I feel calm tonight. I am glad i can have a night as lovely as this one. I think its the melody i'm listening to.
Oh, how i love it. It's called "Penelope" sung by Diego Torres.
I rarely take baths, mostly showers. Today i let myself lean back against my tub and layed there running my fingers through my long hair. I needed to feel some soothing effect, inhaling steam, relaxing. Mother always told me certain men loved a Spanish Woman.
As odd as it sounds, sometimes i think back to Joe and his fascination with our language. He'd always look at me then he'd always tell me he thought spanish women were beautiful with our dark hair and eyes. I remember Orin and how much he said he envied the way i spoke spanish so perfectly. He'd tell me to carry on a normal conversation with our professor and then i'd stop and look at him and he'd sit so attentive and watch me speak and laugh. I'd smile at him every time he did that. It made me appreciate Spanish alot more. I stopped speaking it all together- even at home. I still don't speak it all that much but i continue to be completely fluent and i haven't lost my grip. There's also that French part of my family through my dad's side that i'd love to look into.
*inhales*

This makes me miss Mexico so much...my grandmother.... my grandfather's mixed scent of cologne and cigarretes. Walking barefoot to the corner store to buy tortillas to accompany our lunch. The way my hair flowed in the heat when i ran to catch up with Daniela. I miss sitting on that curb at night watching people walk by and saying hello to them.

Things have changed now.

prev / next

posted on 2010-04-20 @ 10:37 p.m.