Dianna.
I'm happy that work didn't wear me out today. I even did more work after i got home so maybe it's a sign that i'm getting my energy back.

This morning Dianna talked about her usual dilemmas with her daughter Melissa- being a lazy ass, won't fix her own food (let alone a sandwich) or clean up a little since she has no job and hasn't had one for 8 months now. Dianna seemed low and then she had tears in her eyes when she told me that her car was out of gas and that she was going to have to borrow 5 dollars from someone. That broke my heart. I told her that i would gladly give her more than that but all i had was my Visa Debit and didn't have time to get cash out from the bank.

An hour went by and then once we went on break, i called mum and told her to let me borrow some cash because Dianna was out of gas. She didn't hesitate and i told her i'd give dad back the money with no problem- i just needed to stop by the bank to make a withdrawl after work. We continued working and then Dianna saw on her schedule that Marlee had given her one day to work. She panicked and said she didn't know what she'd do since Melissa doesn't have a job. I felt so awful for her then when i got off the phone with mum, i told Dianna that she was to wait out with me after our shift was over till dad showed up and i'd give her the money. Her expression seemed hesitant and she walked a few steps behind me as we headed out of the store. Dad showed up just in time and he handed me $15.00 and then i went back to where Dianna stood and said: "Here...put some Gas in your Car okay?" and i smiled at her.

Her eyes welled up with tears and she hugged me and held on to me for a little while. I could feel her start to sob. "I'll pay you back..." she said.
I continued to hold her and said: "No, no you won't. You keep it, its yours. You know love you right?"
She nodded, thanked me, wiped her eyes and i got in the car and left.

I felt good about it and i knew it was my duty to help her. She's such a good woman and she doesn't deserve to struggle that way. I ache for her. She's in need of groceries so i talked it over with mum and when i see her next week, i'll tell her to give me a list of groceries she needs and i'll go and buy them for her.

Everything i'm doing is unconditional and i feel good when its that way. I don't expect anything in return and i never will. I like being as helpful as i can without ever asking for favors. I think i like giving a whole lot more than being given. It makes me happier.

So, overall today was a good day.

It feels nice to be good to friends. She's a good one.

Love You Di! :)

prev / next

posted on 2010-04-14 @ 2:37 p.m.