God, give me a Sign.
I'm alone in the house now. I feel quite drowsy and i almost fell asleep on my bed but i felt too cold and suddenly i decided to come here for a little while. Mum and Dad are out At bible study. I've skipped out the last few times because we've been doing truck at work almost every wednesday now and since i'm very tired, i usually stay home.
Dad asked me if i'd go and he's the kind of person you can't really say no to, so i said i would. I completely forgot mother wanted me to put the lasagna in the oven and that alone takes about two hours to cook. I dozed off on my bed as soon as i got home and she put the lasana in there for me. She stroked my hair and told me she'd be back later.

In the car dad asked me a weird question- or maybe not weird but out of nowhere. He wanted to know how my relationship with God was going and how my spiritual life was evolving. The average parents ask you how work was or how things are going with your friends, but not dad. His favorite topic is Jesus. Don't get me wrong, i love God with all my heart, i pray often and i try my hardest not to stray but i do believe there are times for certain topics. I was tired and i didn't really want to talk about this. He talked, i mostly listened and nodded. Alot of what he says makes sense and i agree with most of it, but i didn't think we'd come back to that for awhile. I like to keep my relationship with God to myself and i'm not much for sharing the details of what i say to him when i'm awake at night. I'm old enough to not be reminded about things like these but i think he gets so wrapped up in wanting me and my brother to be such grand spiritual people, that he feels like he has to speak up.
I'd like to go through this journey without letting him in or anyone else. Life is hard enough without another added pressure.

Truth be told, i haven't felt God reveal anything special to me just yet and i think that ever since Marta gave me that watch as a symbolism, Dad's been curious to know where my spiritual path is headed. You know, i don't know and i don't think it's his place to ask me when God answers things in his own time, not ours. Dad should know that by memory.
I'm not desperate and i know that God will guide me the best way he thinks for me as an individual.

Drops of rain were falling on me as i headed out of work. I sat outside. It was so hot where we all were that i needed some fresh air. The breeze blew my hair back and i enjoyed how cool the mist felt on my skin. I sat out there for a good twenty minutes. Suddenly, i see an old woman walk out with her husband it seemed. They headed out towards the parking lot. The old man had a black jacket on and when he had his back facing me, there in big yellow letters was the word "IOWA".
I don't believe that was just a plain 'ol coincidence. Maybe it was a sign from God. I mean, why not? He works in weird ways sometimes and, it could have been some other state name, but it wasn't and it was right in front of my face. I mean c'mon, we're in Texas for Gods Sake! I grinned and i thought about Daniel for that moment. I don't know if that means i should be there or just that God is actually letting me know he's listening to me when i tell him how i feel about this situation.

It's difficult to know what signs to follow and it would be a heck of alot easier if he were more audible. That would save some headaches for sure.

prev / next

posted on 2010-03-24 @ 2:04 p.m.