work, work, work.
So, this morning i went in for work at 6 and got right down to business. We had tons of boxes stacked up and Dustin wanted us to try and get them done before break time.
There were so many flippin' ornaments for Christmas...insane amounts. I wondered if people actually bought them and some of them looked weird. I didn't think we'd get all that clutter out but we did! The boxes themselves are what cause most of the space to be taken up and as soon as we cleared everything, it looked neater with most of the carts out in their departments.

We took a 20 minute break. I didn't have any food because i'm not much of a breakfast person. Mom didn't think i should work and not have any food. The break room has a hell of alot of chips and brownies there anyway so i wouldn't have starved. Instead, i just grabbed a Dr.Pepper and sat with a couple of co-workers i was getting along with since i first started.
I looked for Patty when i clocked in but i found out through Jen and Diana that she quit. Yup, i had this open mouth look on my face. This was the same woman that went through the same daunting training process with me, who seemed to like the idea of working there and just like that, she quit. I didn't find out why but Jen told me most people quit after their first day mostly because they hate coming in so early. I was fine with it but i couldn't believe she just left.

So, after break we had to unload the truck which is the most tiring part of it all. Dustin wants us to go quick sometimes but people only have so many hands to carry things with. The carts are high up and i still have to reach to hang things and everything is covered with plastic so you have to take it off. Sometimes we're out stocking too but lately the store looks so cluttered that nothing fits. The isles are small so getting those damn carts through is hard. I didn't get to stock too much because everything was full. I just hope people buy all the Christmas stuff because as soon as the holiday is done, all that crap will have to be marked down.

One of my co-workers sort of filled me in on everyone. I was surprised because she's an older woman; maybe mid 40's or so and she complained about Dustin and Jen and a few others. She said they were mean and rude. I just kind of listened to her. No one was being rude to me. In fact, everyone has been really nice and some of the guys around say thankyou when i go out of my way to help them pick out some stray boxes. It all depends on your attitude. She said i shouldn't believe in poeple's "niceness" but as long as i'm being genuine and friendly, i don't see why they would treat me otherwise.

By the time i got out, i was exhausted. We still have to finish so i told Dustin i'd be going in tomorrow again. There's a few people that aren't coming but i want more money so i'm as good as there.
I saw the perfect present for Mom today. I really want to get it for her come Christmas! we'll see.

For now, i'm super exhausted.

prev / next

posted on 2009-11-09 @ 3:04 p.m.