Honesty (is hardly ever heard)
I didn't even sit down before she asked me to wipe the tears from her eyes. I looked at her and she moaned form the pain and with my fingers, i wiped her eyes.
It was dreadfuly cold in the room and i even shivered as i tried to warm myself up. Sandy had expressed how nervous she was about the whole surgery-recovery and in fact she was suffering and could barely move without having some sort of pain.

David wasn't being the most supportive. You'd think Sandy had just gone to the Doc's for a check up instead of a major surgery. He was walking in and out of the room like he was OCD or something and it bothered me that he couldn't sit still and accompany her. It's almost like he wanted to be anywhere but in the room.
When he finally did sit, he mentioned to me something about how he was doing a great job doing laundy and cleaning the bathrooms. I didn't argue there; he does alot of those things but he was talking like Sandy had to be super grateful when he knows that doing things like that is part of having a family anyway.

Then he said to me: "We do all this stuff and it's still not good enough...it's not right". Of course he was referring to Women in general. He said: "All they do is talk, talk, talk," He did this hand thing signifying "yacking on and on" and i laughed.

"Maybe if you'd LISTEN once in awhile, things could be better, David".

But he wasn't getting my point. He wasn't aware of how his problems with Sandy were a slow, painful divorce wating to happen.

Mom and i stayed and took care of Sandy during his constant comings and goings. Mom even offered to stay and take care of her the whole night. I was fine with the idea but ummm, hello?...where was her HUSBAND?
It bugged me that other people had to take on what was supossed to be his right. He didn't even look concerned or worried about her for a moment! It shocked me that he wasn't more atttentive or just a little bit.

I told my mother that she wasn't even prepared to stay. She had no clothes, no nothing.

"David has to stay with her. He's not a teenager anymore. He needs to step up"...
I said this in front of Sandy and mom even looked at me with the kind of eyes that said 'you shouldn't have said that' but i didn't care. I don't sugar coat things and both Sandy and i talk about it and how David is so lousy sometimes.

Turns out, Sandy took what i said to heart because she thought that i didn't want my mom to stay and take care of her. It's so annoying when people always take things the opposite way. I bit my lip when my mom told me this. She knew that i said what i did because of David; because it hurt me that he was so unemotional about her situation, that he kept going in and out like a 14 year old riding the elevators instead of being with HIS WIFE. Apparently, Sandy didn't even know i was talking about him.

I'll tell her that i didn't mean to make her cry or make her feel bad in any way and you know, she should be glad someone calls him out on all this crap because i have a feeling that he isn't exactly being the world's most faithful husband. It also bothered me how Sandy takes things because it wasn't such a big deal and because nothing was directed towards her. We have both discussed about David and how he is so i'm a little confused.

When Sandy or my Aunt talk and have opinions, i don't go crying to my mother because they said something about me. It's kind of ridiculous because everyone in this family has never been afraid to comment. It's just that when it has something to do with them, all of a sudden they're too sensitive to take it.

I'd do anything for Sandy, i adore her. She's my cousin and i just want to defend her. David is a good guy but he has alot of growing up to do. He needs to be more loving and caring towards his family.

I say what i feel and alot of the time i hold back but sweeping things under the rug isn't the way out. Pretty soon all the crap under it is going to overflow and then what?

prev / next

posted on 2009-08-17 @ 3:38 p.m.