i'll take any risk to tie back the hands of time.
When i walk in the door, i can hear Sophia screaming. She always gets rowdy when i arrive. She acts shy for a couple of minutes,then gets over it and jumps into my arms.
My instructions were to keep her and Fabian out of the living room and entertained in her bedroom and/or Fabian's.
She takes my hand as if she were my leader and i see that her room is messy as it always is. There's plastic food items all over the ground and her bed spead is half way off her bed. She immediately tells me she's got a new boyfriend and that Spider-Man and her were no longer an "item". I laugh and as Fabian sprouts up to inform the name of the new gent, Sophia yells: "It's Malcolm!"
"Who's Malcolm?", i ask and before any of them can answer, it clicks.

She means Frankie Muniz, who plays Malcolm in "Malcolm in the Middle".
Her eyes widen as she tells me he's going to come over and that they would kiss. I'm trying not to laugh or make it seem like all this is funny. You'd have to understand that talking to Sophia is like talking to a 5-7 year old and not a 3 year-old. She's convinced that "Malcolm" is coming and she wants to call him on the phone to tell him to hurry up and get here.

I go along with her story and add on to my own fun.

"Baby, you can't even write your name yet and you want to kiss a boy? he's too old for you! you need to learn how to read before you kiss with a boy. Why don't you like that boy there?"

I pointed to Porky, the Little Rascal on t.v. but she seemed to like the older boys.

"No, i love Malcolm, but i got to read first!"

I laugh, and kiss her on her forehead. They stayed quiet for the most part after i put on "Madagascar" her and Fabian both. She rested her head on my tummy and held my hand.

Later Fabian asked me if i'd like to go to his room and watch him play games, so i got up, picked up the mess, all the plastic food toys, i made Sophia's bed and made sure it was even neater than before.
I sat on the bed with Sophia and she kept talking and talking about Malcolm.

I smiled at her.

"Babe, he's too old for you", i said.
She looked at me with those honey eyes of hers and said: "I'm not your babe."

I laughed. "Yes! you are my babe, my baby!" and i kissed her cheek and she giggled.

"You're pretty", she said and i held her against me as we played.
I played dead and she tried to give me CPR which was hilarious because how would a 3 year-old even know to do that?

By then, it was almost 11 at night and i had to go. She cried a little because she wanted to spend the night at my house, but that would have to wait till Saturday. She accompanied me outside where my Mom was waiting and i yelled "Bye Babe!"

"I'm not your babe!" she yelled but at this point she wasn't angry, she just said i wasn't her babe.

"Bye Kenet!...i love you!"
The way she says my name with her tiny voice is adorable.

Trully.

prev / next

posted on 2009-07-15 @ 5:41 p.m.